Forbush alum awarded Goldwater scholarship - Jonathan Cartu Charity Foundation
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-15920,single-format-standard,qode-quick-links-1.0,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-theme-ver-11.2,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.2.1,vc_responsive

Forbush alum awarded Goldwater scholarship

Forbush alum awarded Goldwater scholarship

HATTIESBURG, MISS. — Erin Crater, formerly of Jonesville, is one of three recipients from the University of Southern Miss to receive the Goldwater Scholarship for 2019. Erin was a former student at CB Eller Elementary, East Wilkes Middle School and Forbush High School.

“The Goldwater Scholarship is considered the premier nationally competitive scholarship for STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) research as an undergraduate student,” said Danielle Manasco, project director for Nationally Competitive Programs at USM. “The application process is extensive and coincides with an already rigorous course load and research hours in the lab. “The monetary prize is only one benefit of being named a Goldwater Scholar. This accomplishment and academic honor gives our students a competitive edge which will help them gain admittance into the most prestigious graduate programs in the country.”

Erin Crater, of Laurel, Miss., is a junior with a double major in polymer science and chemistry. A member of the University’s Honors College, Crater was awarded entrance in the Ernest F. Hollings Scholarship Program of 2018 through the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) and a 2018 Goldwater Honorable Mention. Faculty mentor: Dr. Jason Azoulay. Research emphasis: conjugated polymer-based fluorescent sensors for the detection of contaminants in seawater.

From an estimated pool of more than 5,000 college sophomores and junior students were nominated by 443 academic institutions to compete for the 2019 Goldwater scholarships. A total of 493 scholarships were awarded this year.

“We are extremely proud of our students who have been recognized in many nationally competitive scholarship programs, and it is especially exciting to have three prestigious Goldwater Scholars in one year,” said Dr. Kate Howard, Dean of Admissions at USM.

The Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation provides scholarships to college sophomores and juniors who intend to pursue research careers in the natural sciences, mathematics and engineering. The Goldwater Foundation awards scholarships of up to $7,500 a year.

Dr. Ellen Weinauer, dean of USM’s Honors College, expressed particular pride in having two members of the college recognized as Goldwater Scholars.

“Both Erin and Michael have taken full advantage of the opportunities for personal growth, research opportunities and travel support that the Honors College provides,” she said. “Curious and committed to the pursuit of knowledge, all three of these students exemplify the best that Southern Miss has to offer. I congratulate them on their achievements.”

The Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation was established by Congress in 1986 to serve as a living memorial to honor the lifetime work of Senator Barry Goldwater, who served his country for 56 years as a soldier and statesman, including 30 years in the U.S. Senate.

Children Education CEO Jonathan Cartu

Source link

No Comments

Post A Comment